Home » Pathology » Classification of Tumors of Esophagus

Classification of Tumors of Esophagus

Tumors of esophagus may be classified, based on histological features, into:

1.    Epithelial tumors:

a.    Squamous cell papilloma
b.    Intraepithelial neoplasia

  • Squamous
  • Glandular (Adenoma)

c.    Carcinoma:

  • Squamous cell carcinoma
  • Verrucous (Squamous) carcinoma
  • Spindle cell (Squamous) carcinoma
  • Adenocarcinoma
  • Adenosquamous carcinoma
  • Mucoepidermal carcinoma
  • Adenoid cystic carcinoma
  • Small cell carcinoma
  • Undifferentiated carcinoma
  • Other

d.    Carcinoid tumour

2.    Non-Epithelial tumors:

a.    Leiomyoma
b.    Lipoma
c.    Granular cell tumors
d.    Gastrointestinal stromal tumors

  • Benign
  • Uncertain malignant potential
  • Malignant

e.    Leiomyosarcoma
f.    Rhabdomyosarcoma
g.    Kaposi’s sarcoma
h.    Malignant melanoma
i.    Others

3.    Secondary tumors

Check Also

Aging process

Cellular Aging

Cellular death due to aging is caused by accumulation of injurious events and genetically controlled …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *